Joe Wong Poster Awards

Joe Wong Image

In 2016, the SSRL Users' Executive Committee (SSRL UEC) announced the creation of the Joe Wong Poster Awards.

The awards are made possible by support from long-time SSRL user Joe Wong, PhD, DSc, Fellow of the American Physical Society. "The modest gift is really a show of my appreciation towards this wonderful facility of yours, which I benefited so much from in the course of my research career."

The Poster Awards are established to promote multi-disciplinary interactions among the lightsource user community, to recognize the best poster presentations at the Annual Users' Conference, and specifically to help students in preparing for their science careers. The poster awards are open to users of both the Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource (SSRL) and the Linac Coherent Light Source (LCLS) based on research results from either facility.

Awards will be given to the most exciting, novel and compelling science as presented during the poster session. The poster competition will be judged by members of the SSRL Users' Executive Committee (SSRL UEC), LCLS Users' Executive Committee (LCLS UEC), and the Users' Conference Organizing Committee.

These awards are planned: 

  • $500 award for the best poster presentation by an undergraduate or graduate student (BS, MS or PhD student user). It is hoped that the peer recognition of the student's outstanding accomplishments will help the recipient’s application for either graduate school, postdoctoral position or employment in their chosen scientific field.
  • $250 awards for up to two selected poster presenters at any stage of their research career and in any field. 
(from left) Gauthier Deblonde, Joe Wong, Izumi Ishigami and Ariana Peck
Congratulations to the recipients of the 2017 Joe Wong Outstanding Poster Award Competition at the SSRL/LCLS Annual Users' Meeting on September 28, 2017 (and thank you to the SSRL and LCLS UEC Judges)!

Gauthier Deblonde, LBNL:  Shedding Light on the Transplutonium Element (Am, Cm, Bk, Cf) Solution Chemistry Using EXAFS - Beam Line 11-2

Izumi Ishigami, Albert Einstein College of Medicine:  Crystal Structure of CO-bound Cytochrome c Oxidase Determined by Serial Femtosecond X-ray Crystallography at Room Temperature

Ariana Peck, Stanford University:  Intermolecular Correlations are Necessary to Explain Diffuse Scattering from Protein Crystals


(from left) Camila Bacellar, Petra Fromme, Fang Ren, Blaine Mooers and Anna Wise

The SSRL UEC kicked off the Joe Wong Poster Awards during the SSRL/LCLS Annual Users' Conference October 5-7, 2016Winners of the inaugural Joe Wong Poster Award Competition:

Camila Bacellar, Graduate Student, University of California Berkeley/LBNL:  Imaging Anisotropic Nanoplasma Dynamics in Superfluid Helium Droplets

Fang Ren, Stanford University/SSRL Material Science Division:  Identify Phases in Materials - Human or Robot?

Anna Wise, Stanford University/SSRL Material Science Division:  High Resolution Chemical Mapping of Energy-related Materials: Development of Soft X-ray Ptychograpy at SSRL

If you missed this session, you missed a great time discussing the latest science, facility and instrument developments on a lovely fall evening on the patio of the new SUSB. But, there's always next year so start planning ahead ...

For more information, contact Cathy Knotts or Lisa Dunn.

Find Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource on FlickrFind Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource on YouTubeFind Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource on Twitter