Scientific Advisory Committee

Role and Charter of the SSRL SAC


The SSRL Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) reports to and advises the SSRL Director on issues related to:

  • Operation of SSRL as a scientific user facility
  • Planning, construction and operation of new SSRL facilities
  • Long-term scientific directions of SSRL

Membership and Officers

  • SAC consists of 14 external members, and representatives from the following SSRL committees serve on the SAC in an Ex Officio capacity
    • Chair of the SSRL Proposal Review Panel (PRP)
    • Chair and Past Chair of the SSRL Users' Executive Committee (SSRL UEC)
  • SAC members are appointed by the SSRL Director for 3-year terms, with one third of the members rotating off and being replaced every year
    • Membership may be extended, e.g., to stagger rotation periods of members
  • The SAC Chair is appointed by the SSRL Director


  • The SAC meets periodically as needed, at minimum once a year. The meeting agenda is set by the SSRL Director in close coordination with the SAC Chair
  • Before each meeting, the SSRL Director will outline a specific charge to the SAC and the advice sought from the SAC.


  • The advice of the SAC is conveyed to SSRL management at the end of each meeting, and documented in a short written communication to the SSRL Director, with a copy to the SLAC Director.

Committee Members

Joel Brock (SAC Chair)
Cornell University
Department of Applied and Engineering Physics
Ithaca, NY

Dave Robin
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Advanced Light Source
Berkeley, CA

Alexander Fohlisch
Institute of Methods and Instrumentation
in Synchrotron Radiation Research
Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin
Berlin, Germany
Susannah Scott
University of California at Santa Barbara
Department of Chemical Engineering
Santa Barbara, CA
Bruce Gates
University of California at Davis
Department of Chemical Engineering and
Materials Science
Davis, CA

Thomas Schneider
European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)
Structural Biology
Hamburg, Germany

Celia Goulding
University of California at Irvine
Department of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
Irvine, CA
Edward Snell
Hauptman Woodward Medical Research Institute
Buffalo, NY

Eric Lin
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Materials Measurement Laboratory
Gaithersburg, MD

Junko Yano
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Molecular Biophysics and Integrated Bioimaging
Berkeley, CA
Christian Mailhiot
Sandia National Laboratories
Energy Materials Science
Livermore, CA
Michael Chabinyc (Ex Officio PRP Chair)
University of California Santa Barbara
Materials Department
Santa Barbara, CA
Lisa Miller
Brookhaven National Laboratory
National Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource II
Upton, NY

Blaine Mooers (Ex Officio UEC Chair)
University of Oklahoma Health Science Center
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Oklahoma, OK

Sakura Pascarelli
Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY)
European XFEL
Hamburg, Germany
Graham George (Ex Officio Past UEC Chair)
University of Saskatchewan
Geological Sciences
Saskatoon, Canada
Harald Reichert
Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY)
Hamburg, Germany
Find Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource on TwitterFind Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource on YouTubeFind Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource on Flickr