Meeting Home    Contact Us  
Menlo Park, CA  8-10 October 2003


The SSRL Users' Organization Executive Committee (SSRLUO EC) is a voluntary organization which serves as an advisory panel to communicate user needs or concerns to SSRL management and to the SLAC Scientific Policy Committee. More broadly, the SSRLUO EC  helps advocate the role synchrotrons play in the scientific enterprise. 

We are currently soliciting nominations for four general positions in the following disciplines: materials/chemistry (1); structural molecular biology (1), macromolecular crystallography (1), and environmental sciences (1). In addition, we need nominations for a graduate student member of the committee (in any discipline). All members serve a two-year term, with the exception of the person elected Chair who serves a three-year term, and are elected by the SSRL user community per discipline and majority vote. All newly elected members begin their term following the Users' Meeting, October 9-10.

Name Institution Primary Discipline
  Uwe Bergmann
SSRL Materials/Chemistry
*Corwin Booth
  (Ex Officio)
LBNL Materials/Chemistry
  Benjamin Bostick
  (Vice Chair)
Dartmouth College   Environmental Sciences
  Richard Brennan OHSU Macromolecular Crystallography
*Jane DeWitt CSU San Francisco Structural Molecular Biology
  Andrew Fisher UC Davis Macromolecular Crystallography
  Richard Lee LLNL LCLS
  Anneli Munkholm Lumileds Lighting Materials/Chemistry
*Erik Nelson LLNL Materials Chemistry
*Nicholas Pingitore UTEP Environmental Sciences
  Martina Ralle OGI Structural Molecular Biology
  Deanne Jackson Rudd  Stanford University Graduate Student
*Dave Stout Scripps Macromolecular Crystallography

* Indicates vacancy to be filled for FY04.

All nominations should include:  nominee's name, institution, primary area of discipline, and whether or not they have agreed to have their name appear on the ballot.   Send nominations via e-mail or via hard copy mail to Cathy Knotts by September 15: 2575 Sand Hill Road, SSRL MS 99, Menlo Park, CA 94025,, Fax 650-926-3600. The election will take place via the web; newly elected members will be announced during the users meeting dinner on October 9.

All nominations must be received prior to September 15. The election will take place via the web; newly elected members will be announced during the users meeting banquet on October 9.

Contact Cathy Knotts at
SSRL, 2575 Sand Hill Rd., MS 99, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Tel: 650-926-3191, FAX: 650-926-3600, E-mail:
for more information