Meeting Home    Contact Us  
Menlo Park, CA  8-10 October 2003


This award was established by the SSRL Organization Executive Committee to promote important technical or scientific accomplishments in synchrotron radiation-based science and to foster collaboration and efficient use of beam time among users and staff at SSRL.

The Lytle Award consists of a plaque that is displayed in the User Research Administration Office at SSRL and $1000. All SSRL users and staff are eligible for this award.

The following people have previously received the Farrel W. Lytle Award:

  • Farrel W. Lytle (1998)
  • Tom Hostetler (1999)
  • Roger Prince (2000)
  • Britt Hedman (2001)
  • Paul Phizackerley (2002)
To nominate someone for the Lytle Award, please summarize the individual's contributions and why you feel they should be recognized through this award. This summary should be approximately 2-3 paragraphs in length, including the candidate's name and contact information, as well as the nominator's contact information. Nominations should be forwarded to Cathy Knotts via e-mail, hardcopy or fax (see contact information below)

All nominations will be reviewed and the recipient selected by members of the SSRL Users' Organization Executive Committee. The Award will be presented at the Users' Meeting Dinner on Monday, October 9. 

Nominations must be received by September 8 to be considered.


Contact Cathy Knotts at
SSRL, 2575 Sand Hill Rd., MS 99, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Tel: 650-926-3191, FAX: 650-926-3600, E-mail:
for more information