Held May 4 -7, 1998

Linear< br> Accelerator

Home Page

Workshop Schedule

Contributed Talks

Discussion Sessions

Oral Abstracts

Poster Abstracts

Conference Proceedings

Author Guidelines

Poster Information

Reception Directions

Banquet Directions

Lodging Information

< /font>Travel to SLAC

Visitor Information
Further information on
BIW '98 is available from

BIW '98 Secretary
c/o Suzanne Barrett
P.O. Box 4349
Stanford, CA 94309-0210
Phone: (650) 926-3191
FAX: (650) 926-3600


The 8th Beam Instrumentation Workshop addressed design principles and engineering issues of beam diagnostic and control instrumentation for charged particle accelerators and beam transport lines. The Workshop promoted a forum in which practitioners could exchange ideas and review instrumenta tion designs, and served as an introduction to relevant topics for engineers and scientists with the aid of tutorial sessions.

The workshop included tutorials, invited talks and contributed oral presentation. There were also poster displays, vendor displays and open discussion on topics of interest to attendees. A tour of the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) was offered.

The Workshop Organizing Committee presented the 1998 Faraday Cup Award for innovative achievement in instrument design (sponsored by Bergoz Inc., France) to Andrews Peters (BSI DARMSTADT) on May 6, 1998.



Organizing Committee: Robert Hettel (co-Chair, SSRL/SLA C),
Steve Smith (co-Chair, SLAC), Robert Averill (MIT Bates),
Claude Bovet (CERN), Jean-Claude Denard (TJNAF),
Jim Hinkson (LBNL), Heribert Koziol (CERN), Alex Lumpkin (APS),
Ralph Pasquinelli (FNAL), Mike Plum (LANL), Robert Shafer (LANL),
Gary Smith (BNL), Gregory Stover (LBNL), Robert Webber (FNAL),
Richard Witkover (BNL), Jim Zagel (FNAL)

Graphics by Terry Anderson
Last Update: June 17, 1999 
Heinz-Dieter Nuhn, SSRL